Advertisements

Tag Archives: subscription service reviews

Permalink to single post

Subscription Box Review – Yes! Oh Yas! September 2018

The items included in the Yes! Oh Yas! September 2018 box

It’s that time of year again where I am back to doing subscription box reviews. I wanted to make it a point to start a few weeks earlier this year so you would have plenty of time to plan out any subscriptions you wanted to get for gifts this year.

This year I will trying my best to review subscriptions you haven’t heard about and the ones you are curious about. Today we are starting with a beauty subscription box I recently heard about on Instagram. They only started this year. So I am really excited to share it with you all.

 

Service Name: Yes! Oh Yas!. Today we are looking at what was sent for the month of September 2018.

 

Price: It is $14.99 a month plus $3.99 shipping for US residents.

 

Where Is It Available: It is available to all US residents and to Canadian Residents for an additional $9.50 for shipping.

 

Who To Get It For: Yourself or anyone else that loves makeup. This seems to be a great one for someone who is just starting their makeup collection or someone looking to try indie makeup brands.

 

What You Get: You get three to seven full-sized products every month. (I thought I had read when I signed up that at least one product was guaranteed to be a palette, but it doesn’t seem to say that now. However, looking at previous months and spoilers for future months, it seems to hold true. I guess they just aren’t  guaranteeing it now.)

As a bonus, the website currently says that any one who completes a full years membership with Yes! Oh Yas! will receive a free limited edition box worth $200-$400!

 

Drawbacks: For me there were not any with this box. However, if you like a box that has a mix of items (meaning not just makeup), maybe this would not be the subscription for you.

 

The Details: Your subscription arrives in a bag, at least this months did.

Yes! Oh Yas! Subscription arrives in a bubble mailer

I have seen pictures of previous months where they arrived in boxes, but I think most months they come in a similar bubble mailer bag.

One of the first things you should pull out of the bag is a note card with a list of products included and their prices.

Card with products listed that come in this months Yes! Oh Yas!

As you can see the total value of $119 by their calculations. Now as I am doing a post like this for a Subscription Box Review, I am often going to product pages to link to. And I think their calculations were off a bit. I think this months was actually worth a few dollars more, depending on how you look at it. I will mark the difference by the products as I found them.

This months subscribers received four items. Let’s have a look at what we got.

The items included in the Yes! Oh Yas! September 2018 box

Starting at the top and working downward:

  1. Aesthetica Pro Brush Series – This is a 3-piece eyeliner, brow & spoolie brush set. This sells for $45.00 on Aesthetica’s website.
  2. Chella Matte Lipstick Pencil – This pencil is supposed to last for hours of wear while keeping your lips soft and hydrated. I received mine in the color Naughty Nude. I do not know if everyone received the same color or not. It sells for $18.00 on the Chella website. This was an error on the info card sent which read $20
  3. Glo by Glory Glo Stix Semi-Matte Liquid Lipstick – I received mine in the color Honey Bun, its described as a Mocha Brown Nude. Again I am unsure if everyone received the same color or not. These sell for $18.00 on the Glo by Glory website.
  4. Naked Cosmetics Holographic Highlighter Collection – Six stunning iridescent shades. From rose quartz to ultra-violet, opal to emerald, and sapphire to gold. This palette sells retail for $39.99, but it is currently on sale for $29.99. This was the other item with a price discrepancy from the card. If we go by the original price the box is worth a few dollars more. If we go by the sale price, then its a couple dollars less. I suppose it could have been on sale for the price they listed on the card at the time Yes! Oh Yas! purchased it.

I think I personally am most excited about that highlight palette. But I don’t feel like I got any bad products in this box.

Let me give you a look at the colors of the products, so you can see what they really look like.

Inside the boxes of products I received in the Yes! Oh Yas! subscription

I really like that the palette has a magnetic closure. I don’t have to worry about it staying closed.

Make sure you are following me on Instagram and Facebook as well. I most likely will post some additional pictures there, possibly some swatches.

 

Where To Sign Up: If you are interested in trying this box out for yourself you can sign up on the Yes! Oh Yas! website.

 

Final Thoughts: Overall based on value and what I like I am very pleases with this subscription. I am actually able to use everything that I received, which is kind of rare for me in a subscription box. The value versus what you spend is just phenomenal. I don’t think I have tried any of these brands before, and I really like trying new companies. So I will definitely continue with this one at least for a bit to see how they progress.

 

Let me know in the comments what you thought of this box. Do you think this one will have staying power? Are you considering signing up? And as always let me know what boxes you want to see me review before December. I can do two more than what I currently have planned and I would love to hear your feedback.

 

 

 

 

Advertisements
Permalink to single post

Subscription Service Review – Beauteque Mask Maven

Mask Maven Subscription for October 2016

Today I have another subscription service review for you. I still have several more I will try to get reviewed before the end of November, so if anyone wants to get one as a Christmas present for someone they have plenty of time to do it. And don’t forget to check out my previous reviews of the So Choix Subscription and the Sephora Play Box if you haven’t already.

Service Name: Beauteque Mask Maven

 

Price: $13 – $15 a month, depending on how many months you pay for at once. And if you use my code KAREN you can save an additional 10% off your subscription. My discount code does not expire and can also be used on individual products.

 

Where Is It Available: Beauteque ships to the US, Canada, Europe (certain countries only), Australia, New Zealand, Hong Kong, Japan, and Singapore.

 

Who To Get It For: Anyone who loves Korean Beauty or sheet masks. Or anyone who is interested in trying it out.

 

What You Get: Nine sheet masks of various types and brands. Though occasionally there is an extra thrown in.

 

Drawbacks: This really depends on your perspective. The only drawback I could think of is that you don’t have any say in what type of sheet masks you are getting. So if you have extremely sensitive skin like me there may be an occasional masks you can’t use. But for the general population they are all masks that should be good for all skin types.

 

The Details: I will share with you what came in my October 2016 Mask Maven subscription so you can get an idea of what to expect.

This is how the Beauteque Mask Maven is mailed

This is how your Mask Maven subscription will show up every month. It comes in a plain white bubble mailer with the Beauteque logo clearly marked on the envelope.

How Mask Maven is wraped

All of your masks are usually in one of these drawstring bags. And then you get one or two printed pages with it. This month there were two.

List of the masks in Mask Maven and how to use them

On one of the cards, the one you get every month, is a list of all the masks you got and how to use them. This can be especially important to keep because the mask themselves don’t always have English directions on them. It also lets you know what the theme for the month is. This month’s was theme was After Party Masquerade.

Beauteque's 30 Day Challenge

Occasionally you get these 30 day Mask Maven Challenge Callender with your order. There usually is special promotions associated with it on Beauteque’s social media. The calendar itself just helps you plan out the best way to space out using your masks in a 30 day period.

All of the masks included in the October 2016 Mask Maven Subscription

Here are all nine of the masks I received this month in my Mask Maven subscription. I will show you each of them up close below, as well as links to each.

My Beauty Diary Caviar Sheet Mask

This is the My Beauty Diary Roe (Caviar) Mask. It normally sells for $1.99 but is on sale for $1.00 for the month of November. Use this mask to restore a young, beautiful complexion.

Ariul 7 Day Pomegranate Mask

This is the Ariul 7 Days Mask in Pomegranate. It normally sells for $1.99 and is on sell for $1.00 for the month of November. Use this mask to improves the general health and radiance of your skin. It also firms and improves skin elasticity.

Ariul 7 Days Tea Tree Mask

This is the Ariul 7 Days Mask in Tea Tree. It is currently sold out on Beauteque’s website, check their website to see if it has been restocked. However, I am sure that it sells for the same price as the other masks from this brand, $1.99. This mask can be used for clearing up your complexion. It controls sebum without over-drying your skin.

NOHJ Superfood Honey Mask

 

This is the NOHJ Superfood Honey Mask. It is also currently sold out on Beauteque’s website. Based on prices for the other masks from this brand I would guess this sells for around $2.50. Use this mask for many things. Honey is good for moisturizing, soothing sensitive skin, and helping acne. And you can’t see this in the picture but the package is 3-D. It’s really cool packaging, and worth buying at least once just for that.

Esfolio Birds Nest Essence Sheet Mask

This is the Esfolio Bird’s Nest Essence Sheet Mask. It normally sells for $1.99 but is on sale for $1.00 for the month of November. This mask I have used previously, and if you have read any of my post about sheet mask then you know esfolio is one of my favorite brands. Use this mask to moisturize and brighten your skin.

Tsaio Stayed Up Late Mask

This is the Tsaio Stayed Up Late Mask – Emily. It sells for $2.25. There were two of these in the bag this month. Use this mask to brighten and firm your skin. This is one of the ever popular black masks.

Berrisom Horror Mask in Black Rice (Skull)

This is the Berrisom Horror Mask Skull – Black Rice. It sells for $3.00. Use this mask to provides elasticity, moisture, and health to skin. Plus these fun character mask have the bonus of making great Instagram and SnapChat pictures.

Tony Moly I'm Real Tea Tree Sheet Mask

This is the Tony Moly I’m Real Mask Sheet in Tea Tree. It sells for $1.99 on Beauteque’s website. (I would like to point out that this same mask sells for $3.75 at a national retail chain. I’m not going to name names, you can figure it out easily enough. Just saying don’t overpay for these guys.) Use this mask for soothing your skin and to help combat blemishes.

 

Who Will Like This/Who Won’t: You will love this if you are a sheet mask addict who likes to discover new sheet mask or if you want to try new mask but don’t know where to start. This is probably not for the person who doesn’t like to try new things with their skin care.

 

Where To Sign Up: You can sign up at Beauteque’s Subscription Website. And don’t forget to use my code KAREN to save the extra 10% off your order.

 

In all honesty, the two subscriptions I get from Beauteque, are the ones I love the most. I love makeup and fun things that come in other subscription boxes, and I really love getting my other subscriptions. But trying Korean skin care through Beauteque and seeing the actual change in my skin, that is worth more than anything else to me. I have not had a painful outbreak from my allergy to Balsam of Peru in over two years now. I owe that to Beauteque and Korean skin care.

So tell me in the comments below if you have tried the Mask Maven Subscription before and what you thought about it if you have.

 

 

 

 

Permalink to single post

Subscription Service Review – Sephora Play Box

As I told you last time when I review the So Choix Subscription, I want to make sure I reviewed some of my favorite services and products before Christmas. I thought this time and from now on I would structure this slightly different, so you will have to let me know what you think.

Service Name: Sephora Play Box

Price: $10.00

Where Is It Available: In the 48 contiguous US states.

Who To Get It For: Yourself. Because of the way the Sephora Play Box is structured, I don’t think they are allowing you to do gift subscriptions. But everyone should give themselves a gift. So Treat Yo’ Self girl.

What You Get: You get five deluxe samples and a bonus fragrance sample every month. Always products carried at Sephora. These products are somewhat customized to you. You fill out a small survey when signing up pertaining to your skin type, coloring, and hair type.

Drawbacks: Sephora Play Box is new, and Sephora is still working out the kinks. They haven’t been the best about communicating with customers about why things work the way they do or announcing that things are changing. This has created some hard feeling for some people, especially since some people didn’t understand why they were getting a different box than what Sephora was showing being opened on YouTube.

The Details: First let’s take a look at my October box. I will give you my thoughts on each element as we go whether it be positive or negative.

How the Sephora Play Box is shipped.

I actually like the way these are shipped. The outer box is really secure, and its distinctive to the brand.

When you first open your Sephora Play Box

When you first open your box there is a pamphlet laying on top with a play card that you can take into the store for 50 extra points on your account to be used toward a future reward. So every other box you would get another deluxe sample of your choice. Or save them up and get one of the larger rewards of your choice.

Pamplet that comes with the Sephora Play Box

The pamphlet folds out and tells you all about the products and how you use them. I actually don’t like how this folds out. I prefer when the info is printed booklet style, or second choice would be on a small sheet. I do believe the Play Box originally came with a booklet and changed to this format right before I got into it.

Under the pamplet is a bag that holds all your products

Just und the pamphlet lays a cloth drawstring bag that holds all your products. This is also something that was changed. Prior to my getting into the subscription service it came in a box, hence the name Sephora Play Box. I have heard mixed things, including some people say they love that it comes in these bags. I personally do not like the cloth bag. They just get tossed. I would rather have something I could reuse like a box or a makeup bag.

October 2016 Sephora Play Box Bag says "Lipstick and Chil

This months bag says Lipstick & Chill on the front. Again, I heard a lot of people say they thought that was cute. I really just am all the nahs about it. __ & chill is starting to get overplayed, especially by a bunch of people who don’t seem to understand what it means.

What came in my October Sephora Play Box

What came inside my October Sephora Play Box

And here is what came in my Sephora Play Box for October 2016. I will show you a more close up picture and details below of each item. From the best I can tell this is one of four possible boxes you could have received for the month. If anyone know the number is different, please comment below.

Fragrance sample Derek Lam 10 Crosby Silent St.

This month they sent me DEREK LAM 10 CROSBY Silent ST.  as my perfume bonus. I haven’t opened this, and I don’t really plan on it. Most of the scents they send me I don’t like and aggravate my Balsam of Peru allergy. I probably will at some point do some giveaways with the massive amounts of perfume samples and deluxe samples I have collected. Let me know in the comments below if that is something you would be interested in. Of course they say they consider these just a bonus, so I don’t really care.

Now down to the main products.

Madam C.J. Walker Scent & Shine Coconut Oil

From a pretty new brand that Sephora has started carrying I got sent the Madam C.J. Walker Beauty Culture Coconut Scent and Shine Oil. The size received in the box is .15 fl oz. For a better idea of size, its about the size of one of the mini perfumes you can buy at pharmacies. It is a decent size and should last a while, especially considering what it is.

The Estee Edit Flash Photo Gloss

So this is probably not as self explanatory as the last item, unless you are already familiar with the product. This is the The Estée Edit Flash Photo Gloss. It is essentially a clear gloss you put on either alone or over your other lip product to make your teeth look white even if they aren’t. The size you receive in the box is .1 fl oz. It is about the size of any mini lip gloss.

Farmacy Skin Dew

This was the product I was probably most excited to see in the bag this month. It is the Farmacy Skin Dew Hydrating Essence Mist & Setting Spray. I had been wanting to try products from this brand for a while, but they have a pretty hefty price tag. I just hadn’t been able to bite the bullet without trying the products first. The size received in the box was .68 fl. oz.

Drunk Elephant T.L.C. Framboos Glycolic Night Serum

I am also pretty happy to get to try this Drunk Elephant T.L.C. Framboos™ Glycolic Night Serum. But as much as I am excited to try this, I think I am a little apprehensive. I don’t know how Glycolic acid will go over with my super sensitive skin. That is one of the big reasons I never even thought about buying this, but that is the great thing about a subscription like this. The size sent in the bag is 5ml.

Smashbox Always on Matte Liquid Lipstick

The last item is a Smashbox Always On Matte Liquid Lipstick in Driver’s Seat. Driver’s Seat is described as a warm pink. I have not tried it yet, but looking at it in the tube, its not a color I care for. But that is not unusual. When it comes to makeup lipstick is one of my favorite things, but 90% of time the shades sent in subscription boxes are not the colors I like. I can not tell you the size of this product as it doesn’t seem to be marked on it, but the tube itself is about the same size as the one from Estee Edit.

I thought I would also share with you a small list of some of my favorite things I have received the last few months in my Play Box.

Too Faced Soleil Matte Bronzer

Bite Beauty Amuse Bouche Lipstick

Origins Maskimizer™ Skin-Optimizing Mask Primer

Algenist Complete Eye Renewal Balm

 

Who Will Like This/Who Won’t: If you are strictly into makeup or strictly into skin care you won’t like this box. But if you like trying a variety of things, and you want to try them before you buy then this may be the box for you. Also if you find you prefer smaller sized items of cosmetics this is definitely a good box for you.

Where To Sign Up:  http://www.sephora.com/play

Overall this has been my favorite month yet. For $10 I feel like even if I don’t like everything or there is something I don’t want to use, there is always someone in my life who will appreciate it, or I can use it in a future give away.

Let me know in the comments below if you have the Sephora Play box and what you think.

 

 

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)

Facebook
Facebook
INSTAGRAM
Pinterest
Pinterest
RSS
Follow by Email